Practical information

Website and social networks

All the official information relating to the Croatian Presidency of the Council of the European Union can be found on the website. The site is managed by the EU2020HR Communication Team, which regularly updates its content in Croatian, English, French, German and Italian.

The contact person for website-related enquiries:

You can find us on Twitter (EN), Facebook (HR), Instagram (EN/HR), Flickr and Vimeo.

If you would like to link to the Croatian EU Council Presidency in your posts, please use the official hashtag #EU2020HR. Thank you!

The Social Media contact:

City of Zagreb

Most events organised by the Croatian Presidency of the Council of the EU will be held in Zagreb.

Zagreb is the capital of the Republic of Croatia and, with just over 800 000 inhabitants, it is big enough to be called a metropolis and small enough to live a comfortable life in. More than three quarters of the surfaces of the city are green. Zagreb has a temperate continental climate, which means that winters are cold and humid and summers are hot and dry. Average temperatures are between 0 and 5° C in January, and between 20 and 25° C in June.

You can find out more about the city of Zagreb on the official website

Good to know

  • Free Wi-Fi is available in most hotels, restaurants, bars and other public places.
  • Zagreb city center also has free Wi-Fi access.
  • International dialing code for Croatia is +385. C and F type outlets/plugs are used in Croatia.
  • Standard voltage is 230 V and the usual frequency is 50 Hz.
  • Most shops are open from 8.00 to 20.00 on weekdays and from 9.00 to 14.00 on Saturdays.
  • Shopping centers and most shops are open on Sundays and on public holidays. Banks and post offices are open weekdays from 8.00 to 19.00, Saturdays until 14.00. Card payments (including contactless) are accepted in most stores, catering facilities and services.
  • Tipping is optional but always welcome.
  • The tap water is safe to drink.
  • English is commonly spoken, especially among younger people.
  • In Croatian 'Thank you' is 'Hvala' and 'Please' is 'Molim'. Both words are magical.

National currency - kuna

The Croatian national currency is the Croatian Kuna (HRK or the commonly-used acronym 'Kn'). It was named because of the significant role played by kuna (Marten, in English) fur, which was historically used as a means of payment.

One kuna consists of 100 lipa.

1 kuna equals approximately 0.13 euros and 1 euro equals approximately 7.4 kuna.

You can exchange our national currency at no charge at any bank, exchange office, post office, in almost all travel agencies and hotels. However, make sure that the exchange rates do not deviate significantly from the Croatian National Bank's exchange rate list, which is updated daily.

You can pick up kunas at any ATM, with or without conversion. We recommend using the ATMs of the most popular banks (Zaba, PBZ, Erste, HPB, RBA, OTP, etc.).

Arrival In Croatia

By plane

Most international commercial flights land at Franjo Tudjman International Airport (ZAG):

The airport is 15 km away from the centre of Zagreb, to which it is connected by a special bus line. You can find the price list and timetable for the bus here: From the starting point to the arrival point, the bus stops at only one station, which is located opposite the central EU Presidency location in Zagreb - the National and University Library. If you want to get off or enter at the Lisinski stop, inform the driver in advance.

Zagreb Airport
Franjo Tudjman International Airport (ZAG)

+385 1 4562170 - for calls outside Croatia
060 320 320 - calls within national network

Lost and found
+ 385 1 456 2229

By car

The cost of driving on the Croatian highways is determined by the length of the trip. You can find toll rates here:

The speed limit on the highways is 130 km per hour and 50 km per hour in populated areas The maximum blood alcohol level allowed for drivers is 0.5 g per litre (0.0 g for young drivers).

For assistance on the road or for information on road conditions, contact HAK on +385 1 1987

Travelling by bus and rail

Please find bus and train timetables and prices here:


The Croatian Presidency does not offer accommodation booking services for media representatives. Since Croatia is a popular tourist destination, we advise you to book your accommodation in hotels or private apartments in good time. Reservations can be made through all the leading internet booking services.

In case of emergency

112 is the universal European emergency telephone number.

If you are calling from a foreign mobile number, all other emergency numbers must be dialed using +385:

  • (+385) 192 Police
  • (+385) 193 Fire department
  • (+385) 194 Emergency medical service
  • (+385) 195 Maritime search and rescue
  • (+385) 1987 Road assistance

The European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) is also valid in Croatia. During your stay in Croatia, it can be used at all health care institutions and contract offices of the Croatian Health Insurance Institute (CIHI).

Visa policy

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter the Republic of Croatia, to stay in the country for up to three months or to transit through the territory of the Republic of Croatia:

  • Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Federal Republic of Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Chile, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, French Republic, Guatemala, Hellenic Republic, Honduras, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Canada, Republic of Korea, Republic of Costa Rica, Republic of Latvia, Principality of Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Hungary, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Republic of Mauritius, United States of Mexico, Principality of Monaco, Republic of Nicaragua, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Federal Republic of Germany, Panama, Republic of Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, El Salvador, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, United States, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Serbia, Vatican City, St. Kitts and Nevis, Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the Swiss Confederation, the Republic of Italy, the Republic of Turkey, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Eastern Republic of Uruguay, the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

A NOTE ON BREXIT: As negotiations on the UK's exit from the EU are not yet complete, any changes in entry conditions and travel arrangements for EU citizens, including Croatian nationals, will be made public on the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs website and media in due course.

Third country nationals who need a visa for Croatia can fill out an online visa application form at (available in English, Russian, Ukrainian, Albanian and Turkish). The completed form should be printed and submitted, together with other mandatory documents, to the Croatian embassy / consulate or visa center or to an authorised tourist agency. You can find more information on the visa system of the Republic of Croatia on the web pages of the